Home > Chicago Review, Food Review > The BBQ Pit in Highland Park, IL

The BBQ Pit in Highland Park, IL

When you want a good pulled pork sandwich, it can be hard to find in the northern suburbs of Chicago. Trust me, I spend a good deal of time trying to find a good place to get ribs and pulled pork, and have found 2 places so far, one in Glenview called Rail Good BBQ (closed now) and The BBQ Pit.

Having dinner with my friend K a month ago, I swear I could smell the BBQ down the street, and a block away. We made it our mission to find where the delectable smells were coming from, and then eat there for dinner. Before walking in, I was afraid it would be too expensive for my college student budget, but I was pleasantly surprised to see how reasonable everything on the menu was, even the ribs. After much deliberation, I decided to order the Pulled Pork Sandwich, one: because it was only 9.99 and two: I was craving a lean, tender, delicious pulled pork sandwich, and hoped that The BBQ Pit would not disappoint. Image

Like most times, I’m looking at this picture and longing to taste the sandwich again. It was flavorful, slightly sweet but still perfect BBQ, there was more than enough sauce, the pork was tender and just fell out of the sandwich, into my mouth, and I died. It was a happy death mind you, but I had a gigantic grin on my face because it was one of the best BBQ pulled pork sandwiches I had ever had. I have the feeling that unless I get to visit the South on a foodie trip (someday, it will happen) this pulled pork sandwich will go down in my book as the best one I’ve ever had. I can’t complain, I can only rave. I have to go back soon, because now the ribs are calling my name! If you like reasonably priced BBQ and large portions, check out The BBQ Pit!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

