Home > Chicago Review, Food Review > The Top 3 Places to get Deep Dish Pizza in Chicago!

The Top 3 Places to get Deep Dish Pizza in Chicago!

As a native Chicagoan, (well, kind of, I am from the suburbs) it’s inevitable that I would do a review on Deep Dish Pizza, right? I wanted to do an individual review, but here’s the thing: I can’t choose, because 3 different places have stolen my heart! Giordano’sLou Malnati’s, and Carmen’s. All three are delicious, in their own way. It took me some time to become a deep dish pizza enthusiast, but it’s a classic for a reason.

 Image
Carmen’s Pizza: Vegetable Deep Dish Pizza
ImageGiordano’s Pizza: Baby Cheese Stuffed Pizza

I can’t name a number 1, because all of these are good in their own way. Here’s why!

Lou Malnati’s

Located on Sherman Avenue, the Lou Malnati’s in Downtown Evanston is a short walk from Northwestern University, but still nearby the heart of Downtown Evanston. Doing both carry out and dine in, this location is great for both staying in or taking it to go. Normally, I get it to go, and take it home with me. As a pizza, well, it’s fantastic. They have both deep dish and regular options for thin crust, but the deep dish is infinitely better. They have a great selection of toppings to choose from, and it always satisfies. My favorite: a Pepperoni pizza with spinach. For whatever reason, it’s the best that they have (in my opinion anyway). What makes Lou’s stand out to me, is their crust. Now, if my mother is reading this review, she probably cannot believe her eyes, because I’m not a fan of crust, whether it’s on a pizza or a sandwich. However, something about this pizza crust is so good! Whenever I have it, it’s positively buttery! So good.

Giordano’s Pizza

With a new location on Chicago Avenue, with an outdoor patio and more space inside, Giordano’s is really on top of their game. When I have a late night deep dish pizza craving, this is the place I go to in order to get my fix, since I live a block, if that, away from this location. Great for both lunch and dinner, I usually stick to spinach and mushroom, or the baby stuffed Spinach pizza, for lunch. The service is always prompt, plus I love the fact that they have specials for lunch, making it both delicious and affordable. I recommend any deep dish (stuffed) from them, but especially the cheese, or the spinach and mushroom.

Carmen’s Pizza

Carmen’s is an unlikely contender, since I’m sure that unless you are either from Evanston, or you were part of Stage Crew at New Trier, you’ve probably never heard of it. I know that before I was a part of Stage Crew, I certainly hadn’t. But I am so glad that I have now! The last time I had deep dish before I left to go back to Maine for school this year was at Carmen’s for a crew reunion dinner. Though almost nobody showed up, it was well worth it to attend. Turns out, on Monday’s and Tuesday’s, Carmen’s has a half off pizza deal. Pretty much the only thing better than authentic Deep Dish pizza in Chicago is half off deep dish pizza, especially for a poor college student’s budget. So why does Carmen’s belong on this list? Because it’s really good, of course! They use a great tomato sauce, the flavor is yummy, and I guarantee, now that I live in the area, and know it’s just a few blocks away from where I live, this may very well become a new go to pizza place for me.

  1. September 3, 2012 at 2:58 am

    Thanks a lot for sharing this with all of us you really recognise what you’re talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally seek advice from my site =). We could have a hyperlink exchange agreement between us!

  2. September 4, 2012 at 3:21 pm

    Thanks a lot for sharing this with all folks you actually realize what you are talking approximately! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally discuss with my web site =). We can have a link change agreement between us!

  3. September 8, 2012 at 6:19 pm

    Nice weblog over here! I’ll just wanna thank you for that. If you like to visit my website check it out! thanks for visiting!

  4. October 20, 2012 at 9:16 pm

    I am doing a story on Chicago dining from comfort to luxury dining, and need a shot of Carmen’s as my photos do not pass muster with my picky editor (even though I use a Canon EOS camera)…may I have permission to use your beautiful shot? The magazine is Taste & Travel, and it is national newsstand in Canada. I will credit you of course.

    Elyse Glickman

    • October 20, 2012 at 11:47 pm

      Wow, thank you so much! Of course.
      Credits would be: Sarah Gelber

  5. January 16, 2013 at 1:24 pm

    A cool blog post there mate ! Thank you for posting !

  6. January 17, 2013 at 1:46 pm

    Hey, I just hopped over to your web-site thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would typically browse, but I appreciated your views none the less. Thanks for making some thing well worth reading.

  7. February 13, 2013 at 1:56 pm

    This article is alluringIs this ok to forward this exact article to my email list or it is not allowed

    • February 13, 2013 at 9:51 pm

      As long as you give me credit for the article on 847foodie, feel free to share it.

  1. April 2, 2013 at 2:55 pm

Leave a comment